Section 1 of 8Overview

Overview

Cortexin (Кортексин) is a Russian prescription product containing polypeptides obtained from cattle brain cortex. It is often discussed as though it were one peptide, but that framing is chemically wrong: Cortexin is a heterogeneous animal-derived preparation, not a single sequence-defined molecule.

That distinction controls every other field on this page. Cortexin cannot honestly be assigned one amino-acid sequence, molecular formula, CAS number, molecular weight or conventional structure image. “Mixed peptides” is a description of the material, not a molecular-weight value.

Product, not a single molecule

The identity verified here is the branded preparation described in the current Russian leaflet. Results from one batch, formulation, route or study cannot automatically be generalized to every material sold under the name Cortexin.

Section 2 of 8Identity and composition

Identity and composition

The reviewed adult Russian patient leaflet describes a lyophilisate for intramuscular injection. Each vial contains 10 mg of polypeptides obtained from cattle brain cortex, with glycine as an excipient, and identifies Geropharm as both authorization holder and manufacturer.

The leaflet does not disclose a complete component-by-component sequence and concentration profile. Consequently:

  • no single sequence or molecular structure is published here;
  • no fixed formula, CAS number or molecular weight is inferred;
  • “brain cortex bioregulator” is treated as a product description, not a canonical chemical identity; and
  • older secondary descriptions using other animal species are not substituted for the current label's cattle-source wording.

This also limits pharmacology claims. A biological effect observed for the whole preparation does not identify which component caused it, and batch characterization matters when a product is a tissue-derived mixture.

Section 3 of 8Russian product status

Russian product status

Geropharm's Russian material presents Cortexin as a prescription medicine. The current patient leaflet gives product identity, labelled indications, contraindications, administration precautions and adverse reactions; the manufacturer's product page lists Russian registration number Р N003862/02 and prescription-only supply.

This establishes a Russia-specific medicine context. It does not mean FDA or EMA approval, and it does not make the Russian label an independent trial or proof that every labelled indication has high-certainty evidence.

The leaflet contains indication-specific prescription regimens. They are not converted here into a universal “Cortexin dose”: formulation, indication, jurisdiction and medical supervision all matter.

Section 4 of 8Human evidence

Human evidence

Human research exists, but quantity and evidentiary strength are not the same thing.

For acute ischaemic stroke, a 2014 report (PMID 24874316) describes a 272-participant multicentre double-blind placebo-controlled trial and reports positive clinical findings. The 2023 Cochrane update (PMID 37818733) added this Cortexin trial to its review of Cerebrolysin and similar peptide mixtures. For the Cortexin study, the reviewers judged incomplete-outcome-data risk low but all other risk-of-bias domains unclear. Across the combined Cerebrolysin/Cortexin-like evidence, moderate-certainty evidence indicated little or no difference in all-cause death. None of the included studies reported the review's specified poor functional outcome, quality of life or return-to-work outcomes.

For cognitive disorders, the 2021 systematic review (PMID 36324709) found only one Cortexin trial with 80 participants, too little for a Cortexin-specific meta-analysis. Across the broader animal-derived-nootropic literature, certainty was low to very low, bias risk moderate to high, and estimated effects modest and probably below clinical relevance. Its 2022 erratum (PMID 36326279) corrects article metadata/DOIs; it does not strengthen the clinical evidence.

What the reviews do and do not say

The reviews do not show that Cortexin has no biological activity. They show that broad clinical claims outrun the amount, independence and methodological strength of the available Cortexin-specific evidence.

Section 5 of 82025–2026 evidence update

2025–2026 evidence update

The literature was refreshed through 29 July 2026:

  • PMID 41524350 (2025) randomized 490 stroke patients in a double-blind comparison of intravenous and intramuscular Cortexin. Because both groups received active Cortexin, it addresses route equivalence—not absolute benefit versus placebo or no treatment.
  • PMID 41782536 (2026) compared antidepressant treatment plus Cortexin with antidepressant treatment alone in 98 people. The abstract does not state randomization or blinding, so the reported advantage remains vulnerable to allocation and expectation bias.
  • PMID 42133422 (2026; DIACORT) randomized 110 people to comprehensive treatment with or without added Cortexin and reports positive cognition, mood and neuropathy outcomes. The abstract does not describe blinding or a placebo and evaluates multiple outcomes alongside background treatment.
  • PMID 42246531 (2026) is a 98-person observational comparative rehabilitation study involving Cortexin, magnetic stimulation and other therapies. It cannot isolate a Cortexin effect.
  • PMID 42360215 (2026) followed 40 people receiving two Cortexin dose levels within comprehensive alcoholic-encephalopathy treatment. With no placebo or untreated comparator, improvement over ten days cannot be attributed to Cortexin alone.

Recent publication therefore expands the record, but does not erase the systematic reviews' concerns about comparators, blinding, co-interventions, selective outcomes and independent replication.

Section 6 of 8Russian trial register

Russian trial register

On 29 July 2026, the official Russian State Register of Clinical Trial Permissions returned 14 Cortexin records. They included phase I–III studies in stroke, cognitive impairment, traumatic brain injury, speech-development disorders and healthy volunteers, with intramuscular, intravenous and rectal formulations.

Notable current records include:

  • RKI 77 / GP20061-P4-03-01: ongoing phase III placebo-controlled suppository study in 180 children;
  • RKI 47 / GP20071-P4-03-01: phase III placebo-controlled intramuscular study in 260 people with moderate cognitive impairment, marked completed;
  • RKI 33 / GP20061-P4-02-01: phase II placebo-controlled suppository study in 132 children, marked completed; and
  • RKI 23 / GP20161-P4-01–01: ongoing phase I safety study in 80 healthy volunteers, created in 2026.

The register also contains completed, ongoing and terminated older programmes. Some ongoing entries retain planned end dates in 2023, and one completed entry displays an end date in 2029. Those tensions are not silently “fixed.” Registered or completed does not mean positive, published or unbiased.

An exact Cortexin intervention search at ClinicalTrials.gov returned zero studies. That is a coverage limitation of that registry, not evidence that no trials exist: the Russian register shows 14.

Section 7 of 8Mechanism and pharmacokinetic limits

Mechanism and pharmacokinetic limits

Label and experimental sources use terms such as neuroprotection, nootropic action, neurotrophic signalling and reduced inflammation or apoptosis. These are proposed or product-labelled mechanisms, not a settled component-level mechanism.

Current negative or neutral findings matter:

  • in PMID 41782540 (2026), Cortexin did not significantly reduce necrosis volume in a rat ischaemia-reperfusion model (p=0.198) and did not increase BDNF, although some inflammatory and apoptosis markers changed; and
  • in a randomized blinded rat embolic-stroke study (PMID 30665068), Cortexin did not significantly improve functional outcome or lesion volume versus saline. Cerebrolysin was the only tested peptide preparation linked to significant functional improvement.

No validated human in-vivo source supporting PeptideGuide's claimed half-life below 30 minutes was identified. For a heterogeneous preparation, a single whole-product half-life may also be misleading unless the measured components and assay are specified.

Section 8 of 8Safety, regulation and sport

Safety, regulation and sport

PeptideGuide's green safety badge is not retained. The reviewed Russian leaflet contraindicates use in pregnancy and breastfeeding and describes very rare serious reactions including anaphylactic shock and laryngeal angioedema. It also lists other very rare allergic, cardiovascular, neurological, psychiatric and injection-site reactions. Label frequency language does not replace independent long-term safety or immunogenicity data.

Exact current searches identified no matching Cortexin application in Drugs@FDA and no match in the EU Union Register's 6,418 centrally authorised records dated 27 July 2026. This supports “not identified as FDA-approved or EU centrally authorised”; it does not prove absence of every national authorization.

The 2026 WADA Prohibited List does not specifically name Cortexin. This page does not infer S0 or S2 from the product's peptide content, and absence from named examples is not presented as permission. Sport eligibility and country-specific import, prescription, possession and human-use rules remain separate questions; legalityNotAssessed therefore remains in force.

Bottom line: Cortexin is a real Russian prescription peptide-mixture product with an active research programme. It is not a single molecule, its evidence is more limited and methodologically mixed than the size of the Russian literature might suggest, and its clinical benefit, whole-product pharmacokinetics and long-term safety should not be treated as established outside the exact labelled and studied contexts.